Thanksgiving

I have decided to try to make at least one blog post a week. The My blog lies fallow for far too long. Today I am going to speak a bit about the upcoming holidays. The next holiday, which I would call a high day, is Thanksgiving, I call it a high day, because there are, as far as I can tell 2 kinds of holiday, the secular and the religious. The secular are high days, the religious are holi(holy)days.

 

I like Thanksgiving, it’s a very Pagan time to me. Some of you (especially the Christians among you šŸ˜‰ ) may cry out that it’s a Christan holiday, but it isn’t. It’s a secular holiday that Christians have adopted. Well, I’m adopting it too. And I’m sure I’m not the first. We need a Holiday between Samhain and Yule. This is the time when you really start feeling the Autumn turning to Winter. The nights are seriously starting to get cold as are the days and the lengthening of the dark is very noticeable.

 

I’m thinking of writing a ritual for it, one suitable for either solitary (like me! šŸ˜‰ ) or group use.

~ by nightsinger on November 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
