Why I Stay

“I Walk with the Goddess,

The Goddess, She walks with me.”

“I Walk With the Goddess”

Kellianna

I know that I have told the story, as sketchy as it is, of how I came to Paganism, but I imagine some of you might wonder why it is I stay here. Well, that is a story that needs telling. Once upon a time….No wait, it’s not that kind of story, so I’ll just begin with. A long time ago there was this girl. Now, I don’t mean to make it sound like she’s dead or anything but she no longer exists. But I digress.

Anyway, I knew this girl. I loved this girl. She was one of those girls I almost married once. You have to understand though, that I was desperately in love with this girl. She consumed me. I loved her so much, that by extension, I loved pretty much everything that she loved. I wanted to share everything with her. So, her religiosity became my religiosity. Not that I hadn’t been raised a Christian, whatever that means, but there was a fervor there that would not have been had she not been there too.

You see, I never felt much from Christianity. It never really did a lot for me. Or as I like to put it “Christianity never seemed very Spiritual to me”. Well, time has gone by since then and while I will say that I still love that girl, I am no longer in love with that girl and will probably never love that way again, which is ok, that was the love of the young. A more mature love is, I believe more circumspect. It is ok, of course to love with all you heat, but you should not lose yourself in your love for another …but I am waning philosophical, back to the topic at hand.

I told you all that to say this. I never felt anything in Christianity. Church was a snooze. The people were usually pretty nice, but you can find nice people anywhere. Paganism though…I have walked in the presence of The Gods and they have walked with me. I have felt them. They are real to me in a way that Christianity never could be. This is the reason I stay.

~ by nightsinger on January 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
